Skip to content

Challenging yourselves and pushing forward in 2012

February 4, 2012

I was raised by small business entrepreneurs.  So frankly, I have an affinity to small and mid-size businesses.  I have been thinking recently about marketing strategy and how the positioning of your business can help push you forward in 2012.  My family always says, what is Marketing Strategy, what does that mean… what do you make…?  When I think of marketing strategy I think of  one of my favorite quotes from Abraham Lincoln,  “If I had eight hours to chop down a tree, I’d spend six hours sharpening my axe.”  I think Abe said it so well, I help companies sharpen their message to their markets.

My family again, pushes… what does that mean… what do you do?  I like to look at  your market, your business, and how your customers use what you sell, and how they benefit from it.  I can help you put a strategy together.   This helps you can divide and conquer. You can stop focusing on your competition and you start focusing on how your customer feel about you and your product.  This is an important shift.  I find more times than not, this shift will keep your energies on the right thing and your competition will be chasing you…The strategy is also important from an internal perspective as well. It is important that your employees, family members, and friends, what I like to call your ambassadors, are all speaking the same language.  Your customers will hear the right message the same way, each and every time.

I am extremely passionate about what I do and how I can provide tangible value to companies.  It is something I research all the time.  Small and Medium sized business just as much as Enterprise sized organizations, need a strategy to ensure they are focusing on the right thing and getting the positive attention they so much deserve.

A few things that I think all companies can benefit from:

1.  Check your competition  – what kinds of words are they using to describe themselves… are you using the same ones?  Perhaps there is a more powerful way to tell your story.

2.  Focus on your customers – I find companies (of all sizes) focus on what their competition are doing.  Focus your energy on your customers.  Keep them satisfied and happy.  You will see a shift and your competition will be chasing you.

3.  Network – Businesses of all sizes need to be in the community.  This doesn’t mean you have to be in every group out there… but when you go to your next Super Bowl party, talk about your business, when you are at Starbucks picking up a coffee – talk about what you do.  You never know where your next customer will come from.  It is about taking pride in what you do and talking about it.

Contact me to learn more…

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

